1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Populating New Library ...

Discussion in 'General iTunes Usage' started by WTS, Mar 23, 2017.

1. WTS

WTS New Member

Hello,

My first post here.

I have Kirk's most recent Take Control of iTunes. I have read it. I have occasionally used it to solve a problem or reorganize some aspect of my ITunes library.

I have both a MacBook Pro and a MacBook Air ... the MacBook Air being mostly used as the player for my DAC / stereo system. I've been using ITunes for approximately four years ... almost entirely to rip / organize a sizable compact disc library. The library is now 1.25 TB ... and it exists on an external 2 TB hard drive. I have 3 generation of back-ups. I keep one generation at work.

Recently, as the library has grown beyond 1.15 TB, it has been slowing considerably, hanging occasionally. This has occurred intermittently on both the MacBook Pro and the MacBook Air. So I decided to divide the library into two or three libraries.

This is what Take Control of ITunes says with regard to creating and populating a new library:

"iTunes opens with that new empty library. You can add any of your media to it and make playlists, as you can with your main library. (To populate the new library, go into your original library’s iTunes Media folder, find what you want to add, and then drag it to the iTunes window.) You can make several libraries like this."

OK. So I did my first experiment (on a third generation copy) and was able to import a list of 50 albums. I did this by going to File - Add to Library and then selecting a list of albums from the original library folder. Great. But ...

(I didn't do it by dragging. I could not / did not visualize what Kirk meant about 'find what you want to add, then drag it to the ITunes window.")